Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Pascack Hills High School Library: Databases

ABC-CLIO

American Government explores State & Local Government, Domestic & Foreign Policy, Foundations of American Government, etc. 


 

American History covers 1350 - Present Day


Daily Life Through History covers Pre-History through Present Day


Pop Culture Universe explores icons, idols, and ideas from 1900 to Present Day


World at War covers Ancient Greece through Present Day


World History: The Modern Era explores time periods from 1700 through Present Day


ABC-CLIO also provides eBooks!

Click here to go to their eBook page.

If you are prompted to login, use the same login you used for the other

ABC-CLIO databases. 


 

Gale

 

eBooks 


Gale in Context U.S. History contains information on events, people and various topics in U.S. History. 


Custom Newspapers - from 2000 to present!


Power Search


 

Britannica

Britannica School


Annals of American History


Merriam-Webster Unabridged Dictionary


Britannica Escolar (Spanish)


Britannica Moderna (Spanish)


Encyclopaedia Universalis (French)


Encyclopaedia Universalis Jr. (French)


Britannica Online - Japan 

 

JSTOR

 

- If you're accessing this from school, it should be automatically signed in. If not, remember to put in the username and password. 

New York Times

Click here for instructions on how to create an account to access the New York Times!

 

Click here for PHHS database logins!

 

Click here to access the Database Cheat Sheet!

It will let you know which databases you might want to use for your topic! 


In order to access the Username/Password Google Doc and the Database Cheat Sheet Google Doc, make sure you are signed into your Pascack email account. 


Click on the "Research Tools" tab above if you need information on NoodleTools

Salem eBooks

Salem Press eBooks 

Login information is at the bottom of the database login doc!

Infobase

Use this link to "power search" across Infobase's history databases

African-American History, American History, American Indian History, Ancient & Medieval History, and Modern World History

ProQuest

 

Click the above logo to login to ProQuest (you'll need to scroll to the middle to put in the username/password).

If you login this way, you can search across all our ProQuest databases at once. 


 

SIRS Issues Researcher - This link will take you to a LibGuide about SIRS Issues Researcher created by ProQuest.

 

Historical Newspapers This link will take you to a LibGuide about Historical Newspapers created by ProQuest.


The following databases are included with out ProQuest subscription. You can search through them once you're logged in.

  • Publicly Available Content - "Designed to complement other databases and collections, this database brings together or links to full text for publicly available content from a number of different sources from around the world."
  • Coronavirus Research Database‎ - "A free health and medical research database for openly available content related to the COVID-19 outbreak."

LOC Newspapers

Library of Congress

Chronicling America

  • Search historic American newspapers
  • Pages are images and Optical Character Recognition (OCR) is used to find and highlight keywords you used in your search.  

Newspaper Navigator

  • Search historic American newspaper images 
  • Uses newspapers from Chronicling America
  • You can create a collection of images
  • Train My AI capabilities - the system retrieves similar images for you that you can + or - to "train" the system. Please watch the video on the site for more information on this!

EBSCO

 

– use this to search across all the available EBSCO databases

covers various subjects, full-text journals and peer-reviewed titles


full text of business publications dating back to 1985. Includes company profiles


 – the Education Resource Information Center has reports, teaching guides, journals, dissertations, and more dating back to 1966


bibliographic database that guides users to records about the Americas during the posted years


 – research interface for high school students from EBSCO


indexing and abstracts, and Open Access texts on all aspects of the human impact on the environment


 – covers world history and U.S. history! Full-texts and tons of primary sources


 – legal forms by state, patents, immigration, travel, wills, personal injury, rental agreements, and more


-This is mainly for those interested in librarianship, cataloging, bibliometrics, information management, online searching and information retrieval (ABSTRACTS ONLY)

 

 full-text database that includes: books, literary journals, plot summaries, synopses, essays, criticisms, biographies, book reviews (full-text poems, short stories, author interviews and classic texts)


reference publications dating back to 1984. Covers most subject areas. (photos, maps, flags, & 52 full text reference books)


 – NoveList can help users find their next perfect book!


 - presents multiple sides of current and controversial issues. Supporting materials and articles are included.


- search by topics, featured articles, and more


 – full text regional business publications


 – basics, start-up, videos, etc.


abstracts and indexing for teacher/administrator journals and magazines


Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia


OpenDissertations Historic and contemporary dissertations from colleges and universities around the world

eBooks

 You will have to scroll down to eBook collection and click on the link to see all the books! 

Below are searchable databases for eBooks.

eBook High School Collection – full text eBooks with unlimited access, most subjects covered 

eBook Collection – full text eBooks 

History Reference eBook Collectionfull text eBooks

Literary Reference eBook Collection -  eBook collection of full text classics, study guides, criticisms, etc.

MasterFILE Reference eBook Collection - full text eBooks

Middle Search Reference eBook Collection - full text eBooks

Why Use a Database?